Elderfox's Blog

Thoughts of an elder writer-in-progress

Do Not Go Gently. . .

on October 16, 2009

I have spiral bound journals, crammed files, and very large three ring notebooks stuffed with…well, with everything –humor, pictures, notes, recipies, writings ( mine–notes, beginnings, plots, etc.)  poetry, pages from writing magazines, pages from other magazines, maps, names, titles–and trying to organize it all is. . .well, WORK!  I’ve been at it for several months now and wondering why?   Yes, I want to write a novel (quite honestly I’ve got material for probably 5 or 6) and the help, research, etc. can be found within these volumes…that’s the funny part.  Not so funny is my lack of accomplishment.   Somehow/somewhere my “want to” slammed up against the motivation to “just do it”.   I got over the hill without getting to the top.

Yes, I’m an elder, and (according to scientific findings) there is an implication that the brain of the older person gets better at envisioning rewards and therefore is more motivated.  So I am going to forget about outlining, editing, etc., and just sit down and attempt the NaNoWriMo challenge.  Perhaps I’ll find out what I can do and the stamina to “savor life twice”….

2 responses to “Do Not Go Gently. . .

  1. Shari says:

    Yay! NaNoWriMo is fun. Crazy, but fun. One thing’s for certain, though — it forces us to shut off our internal editor and just write (cuz there’s no time to edit when you’re trying to write 50000 words in a month!). For me, that’s a really good exercise… and it leaves me with a first draft — something I can fix/edit/revise to my heart’s content later.

    Do I have you on my “buddy list” on the NaNo site? (I’m Island Girl there, if you want to look for me.)

    Good luck! and have fun. 🙂

  2. Well now, it looks like the three writing buddies are heading into the NaNo adventure together! 🙂 I’m so glad you’ve decided to go ahead and “just write” and not worry about all the other aspects that have been roadblocks in the past. The only way to get to the end of a journey is to make a start and keep going. Sometimes we just have to kick that critical IE aside so we can make some progress. As Shari says, NaNoWriMo is pure craziness, but in the chaotic race of words against time we force our brains to produce without censoring.

    I’m Wildwood Gal on the NaNo site and I’ll be checking in on your progress every day in November!

Leave a Reply

